top of page
Search
  • SheaStyle

KellyLand


MY LIFE


You never quite realize how badly you actually want control of the remote, until you say the phrase "How about you pick something to watch on tv?" and then this happens...


I've been married 19+ years and only recently discovered the terrible consequences of handing over the remote. 365 channels; Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime; all of the choices and my husband can always find the one show that I do not ever want to watch.


It seems when he gets his hands on the remote, the only movies that seem to exist are: Shawshank Redemption, Bourne movies, Braveheart and Forest Gump. Yesterday he surprised me with this AMAZINGNESS!


Our hours of conversation over the years of my dislike and breaking heart when animals get hurt or die, his efforts of shielding me from seeing this kind of heartache and then he mindlessly turns this on thinking it would be a great show to bond to (insert eye roll here).


I slowly and quietly took back control of the remote and turned it to my favorite, not his, episode of Friends!


Lesson Here: don't give up control of the remote unless you are prepared to learn that in 19 years, your significant other doesn't know you at all!!


 

PURRFECT VIEW

I am not entirely sure where this section is going to take me, but I'm going to start off by showcasing my animals so that you get to know them personally. I have six, so this will take a few weeks.


This weeks featured pet is Mr. Dewey. I had a friend a couple of years ago text me that she had two cats that she found and wanted to find homes for (I know she only texted me because she knows that I can't say no)...she sent me a picture of this guy and I was in love. I questioned it for a split second and then said "Fine, I'll take him, but I can't see the one or I will want it too."


A couple of years later and I couldn't be happier. I have owned eight cats in my lifetime and I have to say, this cat has a personality like none I have ever seen.


Likes:

  • Pulling all of my toilet paper out of the cupboards

  • Smoking and alcohol (although he has cut back after I explained the side effects)

  • Knocking Fun Filter's (yes, this is what I call my husband) wedding picture down and then walking away

  • All the pets under his chin

  • Biting my nose

  • Knocking over water

  • Opening doors

  • Ponytail holders

  • Empty water bowls

Dislikes:

  • Full water bowls (see our issue here)

  • Closed doors

  • Apparently Fun Filter

  • Me sleeping

The picture with the smug look on his face represents him purrfectly, it's his signature look. This is Dewey's world, we are just lucky to be a part of it.


***Thank you to my friend Linda for this gem of a fur friend


 

TUNE INTO MY HEART

SIR ELTON JOHN


What do I do for fun you ask? I would like to say I'm working towards becoming a professional concert goer! I LOVE music and to experience music live is one of the most amazing things EVER!


I am a crier. It's my thing. Concerts usually get me to a new crying level. I will cry the moment the performer hits the stage and I will often times cry several times throughout the performance.


I'd like to tell you that I was a huge Elton John fan, but to be honest, I really wasn't...so when my son said he wanted to go see him in concert, I rolled my eyes and said "ok."...I mean I'm not going to miss out on a concert experience because, like many things in my life, I like to give it a chance.


The moment he walked onstage I was in tears and I was reminded what a legend he is! To experience his farewell tour was a once in a lifetime moment. I went in not really appreciating the man that he was and by the time it was over, he had literally stole my heart.


FUN FACTS about ELTON JOHN:

  • He was extremely close to Freddie Mercury from Queen

  • Profits from his singles would be donated to AIDS charities and he formed Elton John's AIDS foundation and raised over $300 million dollars

  • Elton owns over a thousand pairs of sunglasses

  • He has had a long standing feud with Madonna

  • In 1990 he went into rehabilitation for substance abuse, particularly cocaine

  • He has two children which is one of the reasons he is retiring, to spend more time with them

  • Someone Saved My Life Tonight, was a song written by him after a suicide attempt because he was ashamed of being gay

Three of my favorite songs by him:

  1. Believe

  2. Your Song

  3. Sad Songs (Say So Much)



***Thank you to my Mom and Son for talking me into one of the best concerts I have ever seen!


 

WHO SAID IT BEST



 

MY HAPPY

I am always continuing to become my best self. There are a lot of things that have shaped and continue to shape me into the person that I am. Here are a few things that make me happy, maybe you'll find some happiness in them too!


READ BETWEEN THE LINES

I was so excited about this book, then I started reading and became annoyed because it was having me journal and draw my personality. Hesitantly I grabbed my pen, my journal and I found myself perfecting what I envisioned the "good guy" in my head to be. I honestly had to stop myself and force myself to put the book down. It's been a life changer for sure.













FINDING THE PERFECT BALANCE

I LOATHE running! Like La Croix, I keep trying it hoping I find the winning combination. So far I've come up winded and the feeling of blood in my lungs. You don't have to LOVE running to participate in this event, you actually just want to have fun. This was my favorite event last year, hands down! Come celebrate, come have fun and come make unforgettable memories (except if you indulge in too many post workout drinks, you might forget a few things). I'm signed up! What are you waiting for!!!??!!


I'M WATCHING YOU...

I don't get a lot of time to watch tv, so when I do, it has to be something funny, riveting and/or captivating...I'm not sure what took me so long to find this show, but it is one I look forward to. If it has the ability to sideline the constant loop of Friends I am usually playing, it's worth a watch!




 

SheaStyle


Songs remind me of people. Each song is unique and gives an unique experience to the listener. I might love a song that you don't and vice versa. People are the same. We are strung together and orchestrate and incredible tune. While sometimes we don't jive and the tune seems to be off, we seem to always fall on the note sheet where we fit magically and create a song worth listening to.


You might not understand your purpose, you might get frustrated in the journey, the key of life may be off at certain points, but I promise there is a song waiting just for you. There is a beat that is missing it's rhythm, a lyric that just doesn't sound right, a beginning, a middle or an end that hasn't come together yet because it is waiting for the magic of you.


Never forget your uniqueness. Never forget that you matter. Always remember that you are a beautiful note; sometimes you just have to wait for the right composition. Without you, the music isn't as amazing as it could be. That is your superpower, that is your uniqueness, that my friend, is why you are magic to our ears. Keep playing until you find the right notes and always be reminded that you are the key to the most perfect song!


 

Tuesdays with Shea, might be my new favorite day!

Nothing Butta love for you all! (you'll get used to it...truth)


25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page