top of page
Search
  • SheaStyle

Tuesday's with Shea

It's funny, I went from panicking to what am I going to write about, to my heart bursting with so many things to say! I would like to say that I am optimistic that this will stay consistent, but honestly I have no idea. Some days the words come in waves and some days I can barely find anything to say (yeah, I find it hard to believe too). From the bottom of my heart thank you to everyone who has supported and continue to support my dream of writing! I don't write thinking I am going to change the world, but I know that some feel as I do and are looking to know that they are not alone...if I can help one person find all the amazing they hold and all the amazing they bring to others, then all of this is worth it! So here's this week's Tuesday's with Shea...may my words or thoughts bring out the very best in you!

 

Work, But Worth It

We are in constant battle with ourselves. We have good days, bad days, meh days and everything in between. Like every relationship in our life, we have to work hard keeping ourselves afloat. I’d like to say there’s a magic pill that you can take where you one day wake up and love everything about yourself and no bad days will ever come again, but truth is, there’s not. Every day requires love and work. Some days more love and less work and some days all the work and very little love. Be gentle with yourself. Know you’re not always going to get it right, you’re not always going to be filled with love and sometimes it’s going to take everything in you, just to exist and you know what, all of it is okay. You don’t always have to wear a smile on your face or joy in your heart to be loved or to be worthy of this beautiful life, the only requirement of you is to just do your best, whatever “your best” is for that day. We strive too often to be “perfect”, to get everything right, that we put unrealistic expectations on not only ourselves, but those in our lives. I challenge you today to look within, at and all around you and find the good in your day. It may be hidden under a strangers smile or completely visible through the thoughtful words from a loved ones mouth. Whatever good you find let it remind you that you are a blessing to this World no matter how imperfect you may feel. Relationships are a lot of work, but so incredibly worth it and I hope you always remember that the next time you think about giving up on yourself; you’re worth it too!


 


TUNE INTO MY HEART

One of my favorite bands is The Lumineers and I decided to listen to The Lumineers radio on Spotify last week and it has been something I very much look forward to when I get to work every day. This was one of the songs that came on and I instantly added it to one of my playlists! We all need those great songs that just make you feel good, this is one of them for me. It doesn't have an "official video", but it's good regardless!


 

Turn the Page

Every year I vow to read more! Last year I think I completed 12 books, not at all impressive! This year I am starting out with a bang, 4 books at once! Anyone who knows me, shouldn't be at all surprised! This book is so good. It's got a lot of statistics in it and just gives an inside look at how girls differ from boys, but for some reason I find it very fascinating. It definitely has me thinking about how I respond and set out to tackle my best self.





Mmmmm Good

Kennedy's Korner will return, I promise. She's itching to give you her reviews and critiques, but until then, I put this dish on my Snapchat and everyone kept asking me for the recipe, so here it is! You can make it as healthy or unhealthy as you would like, I added Italian seasoning to give it a little more spice! Try it, your family will love it!



 

I asked Dewey for some good topics for the blog annnnddd this is what I got!



 

The One Where Shea Can't Stop Thinking

I'm a perfectionist! I will be the first one to admit it. If I am not good at something, I want to quit. I was reminded of this last night as I was talking to my daughter and seeing her frustration in not being the best at something. I got very emotional because I think she is amazing at all that she does, but where she thought she fell short, she thought the answer was to quit. I had a small chuckle to myself in between tears as I was wanting to do the exact same thing a week ago. After some long conversation and as she would describe it "cringy pep talks" I knew that I needed to start practicing what I preach!


They say that failure is not the moment you fall down, but failure is the exact moment you decide not to get back up! I think it's okay to question yourself, to fall short of your goals and sometimes not ever being able to do something. What I don't think is okay (and maybe I think that more now after watching someone I love struggle) is giving up! I'm not sure that I will ever get past the frustration of not doing something "perfectly", but I am going to learn to be gentler with me and the process.


I am 42 years old and I thought that I knew exactly who I was, turns out, I find a new "me" every single day. I showcase the gym a lot, not because I think it's the only place that you can grow, but for me, this has been where my biggest transformation has occurred. I believe one of the hardest things to change about yourself is your mindset. Something about walking through those doors has done the impossible. It has made me question many things including my worth and it has taught me many things, most importantly my value.


I'm not sure that I ever set out to change me, but the moment I walked through those doors something in me changed. I know that I am still continuing to change. That I am still working towards that "best self". I know that the person who first walked through those doors is someone completely different than the person who continues to walk through those doors and I know in my heart of hearts, if I had not changed, I would have quit. So as I told my daughter, when someone tells you that you aren't good enough (including yourself); you have two choices; to quit or to get back up and fight harder; I hope you choose to fight. She may be right, it might have been a "cringy pep talk", but I think it was one that I needed to give as much as I needed to hear!


Happy Tuesday Everyone! Thank you for allowing me to share my mind and heart, it truly is my honor for you to be reading this!


Nothing (Shea) Butta Love for you all!!


43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page